And Can It Be

The Christian faith has produced myriads of great hymns, and one of my favorites is “And Can It Be” by Charles Wesley.  I hope this song is sung at my funeral.  The third verse is one of my favorite verses of any song I know:

Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night
Thine eye diffused a quick’ning ray
I woke the dungeon flamed with light
My chains fell off my heart was free
I rose went forth and followed Thee
Amazing love, how can it be
That Thou my God shouldst die for me?

Everyone who is in Christ has a unique testimony of how God “has delivered us from  the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins,” (Col 1:13-14), but at the core we all have the same story, and this verse of “And Can It Be” articulates it about as well as one could hope.

 

 

This entry was posted in Church, Jesus, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

